Recipes from Blogland

6 Feb

I have been dreading the weekly meal planning lately, so I decided I would spice up our menu with some meals shared by other bloggers. This was actually a little bit fun, searching through their respective blogs for dinner ideas that I hadn’t tried before. For the most part these seem pretty easy so I figured I would give it a shot.  I included 2 of my go to recipes so that I can use up some of the items I have in my pantry/fridge

The Plan:

Sunday – Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Chicken 

Monday – White Chicken Chili

Tuesday -  Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Wednesday – Grilled Chicken, Mashed Potatoes, mixed veggies

Thursday – Cheesey Butternut Squash and Quinoa Casserole

Friday -  LEFTOVERS

Saturday – Curried Lentil Soup

Now I just have to do it for under $70!

I have been MIA most of this weekend with a wicked migraine – grrrr. But Friday night I made salmon quinoa burgers, I cannot take any credit for the idea – I totally stole it from Tina. I made a few revisions and worked with what we had. First I used the last piece of Salmon (about 6oz) and cooked it in the frying pan until no longer bright pink. Then I mixed it with about 1/2c cooked quinoa and some chopped onion.

Then I added one egg white and maybe 2 tbsp of flour

I also added some balsamic vinegar, fresh cilantro, S&P and some garlic. Then I mixed all the ingredients together and formed the mixture into patties. I cooked the patties for 3 minutes on each side and then served them with some pasta and chopped veggies.

Hubs doesn’t always care for quinoa but he LOVED the burgers. I mean LOVE LOVE LOVED them!

Ok – I am off to the grocery store – am I crazy for going on Superbowl Sunday?!

2 Responses to “Recipes from Blogland”

  1. Courtney @ Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life February 6, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Oooooo you are going to love the BBQ pulled chicken! Can’t wait to see how it turns out! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back in the saddle « a Happy, Healthy me - February 6, 2011

    [...] we were off to the grocery store and we did really well – got everything we needed for this week’s dinners and came in $20 under budget. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

