Happy Isn’t a Number

14 Aug

Hello Blog World!

I am a lover of so many healthy living blogs, and often find myself either nodding knowingly about the struggles many of them have faced or laughing out loud as my favorite bloggers let us into their daily lives – I decided to start this blog as an outlet for me to document my journey to find balance… in the everyday.

In the last year and a half I lost a bunch of weight, through a very strict diet and a ton of exercise. I tortured myself in preparation for my wedding – who wants to walk down the aisle on the Big Day and feel like an oompa loompa?! Since the wedding my butt seems to have grown by leaps and bounds, while my desire to exercise and monitor every morsel I eat has shrunk to an all time low!

I find that often times the whole tone of my day is dependent upon the number that flashes back at me from the scale. I have to continually remind myself that “Happy Isn’t a Number” So here I am blogging about my effort to find balance in the everyday. I certainly cannot count every single calorie for the rest of my life, no more than I can exercise 2 hours a day (or until I hit some insane desired calorie burn)I recently had a conversation with a good friend, who also happens to be an RD and she aked me – “So you don’t care what you look like or what size jeans you wear – you just want to see a certain number on the scale?” Hearing someone repeat it back to me put into perspective just how goofy it sounds. Even still I find myself in a daily battle of eat this don’t eat that – to run or not to run – you get the idea.

Leave a Reply

