Schools out for Summer!

26 Jan

When I was in college we had this massive snowstorm. I guess that was probably in 2002 or 2003, anyway – classes were cancelled for just about a week and for some reason (perhaps we were starting to get stir crazy) every morning when we logged into the University website to see what the verdict on our classes was, my 3 roommates and I would start singing “School’s Out for Summer” Sounds sort of dumb as I type it but we got the biggest kick out of it, and this morning when I woke up and saw the snow, I promptly texted my 3 once roommates (2 of which live in Cali, and the 3rd is in NJ) with School’s out for summer and a picture of my back yard.

My husband hates the snow. I however happen to love the stuff and since he has been so kind as to clean our cars and shovel our walk every time it has snowed so far this winter, I offered to do the honors today. I was out there shoveling away for a little over an hour, and since I figured this counted as a workout – I strapped on the old heart rate monitor and was pleasantly surprised when I looked down and saw that I burned almost 600 calories. I was planning to take spin class today, and since it was cancelled, I figure that shoveling was a pretty solid swap.

Ok – on to food. My Beef Stroganoff actually turned out really well (at least according to my dinner guest and husband) I didn’t particularly care for it, but I didn’t hate it either.

I am going to go nestle back into my comfy couch and watch some Teen Mom 2 – stay warm!

Winter Wonderland 2011

Leave a Reply

