A candy addict kicks the habit day 2

3 Feb

Today marks day two of my own little candy detox. I read on another blog that the blogger would marry a sour patch kid if it was legal and I must admit that  rang so true to me it was scary!

I would eat those little buggers until my tongue fell out of my head.  So for a few days I paid attention to how I felt before, during and after I ate the candy and here is my self assessment. I generally crave the sugar when I start to feel overwhelmed or stressed. I also crave the sweets right around 2:30 or 3 in the afternoon. When I am eating the sweets (not only SPKs – I dominate chocolate and other fruity candy too) I feel happy to be doing so, and then as soon as the last sweet hits my tongue I feel guilty, defeated and disappointed. Not to mention all the crap in the candy gives me a headache, a raging, headpounding, headache, yet I still eat the damn candy.

So in order to help myself kick this candy addiction I knew I had to have a plan lined up for how to react to the various situations I noted above. One of them is the breathe. Deeply. And get a grip of whatever is really bothering me. I found that on Day 1 – I got overwhelmed and wanted the candy, but I sat with the uncomfortable overwhelmed feeling for a few seconds and the urge passesd (Yay!). Another little trick I tried today (around 3pm) was to chug some H20. I drank down almost 32 ounces and again – the urge passed. The last trick I have – which is more for an emergency situation when water and breathing just won’t cut it is to whiten my pearly whites 🙂 I have a little stash in my desk drawer, along with a toothbrush and toothpaste and I am prepared to use them!

Now on to dinner. I made Green Bean Salad with Shrimp (recipe adapted from the Master your Metabolism Cookbook).

First I trimmed my green beans, and the microwaved them in water for about 3 minutes. While they were cooking I cut up a pint of cherry tomatoes and a 1/4 cup of kalamata olives. When the green beans were done I mixed all three together.

Next I sauteed some shrimp and then added them to the mix:

Next came the dressing, which was 2.5 tbsp of Red Wine Vinegar, 3 tbsp of EVOO, some oregano, 3 cloves of garlic and some S&P, and I tossed it all together.

Made myself a plate, sprinkled a little feta on top

and dug in!

That my friends was an awesome dinner and lucky for you I actually paused to take pictures before inhaling it 😉

I am off to cuddle with the husband and furry children and catch up on my DVR!

How long does it take to break a habit?

One Response to “A candy addict kicks the habit day 2”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back in the saddle « a Happy, Healthy me - February 6, 2011

    […] the Stevia plant but I still would love to get off of the sweetness altogether. Remember I am a candy addict so I love my sugar! In addition to getting off of the sweets, I have also been trying to cut back […]

Leave a Reply

